i’m happy today

When I walked in, the whites of his eyes pierced the dimly lit room.

We smiled.

I said, “You look like Gandhi.”

He laughed gently under his breath (it had progressed rapidly, which is not uncommon).

I hugged him then kissed him. We held hands in silence.

3 Responses to “i’m happy today”

  1. Lesley Says:

    My brother said “to die this way is beautiful.”

    That brought me more peace than I have felt since my Dad came home from the hospital.

    Wise at 35. My brother.

  2. gnuosphere Says:

    Wise? I don’t know about that. It was just a counterbalance.

    My botched spelling of “Gandhi” (now fixed) would have made James Nichols proud. :)

  3. i’m happy and sad today « GNUosphere Says:

    […] i’m happy and sad today About five months after diagnosis, my dad died. I’m happy he’s free from his “prison” (his understandable descriptor during the last days of his body’s illness) and sad he’s gone from our lives. The bright side of dying this way is getting to say goodbye. […]

Leave a Reply

