web feature request: image search

I want to right-click a graphic and choose something like “search for related images”. Then have exact (ranked closely thereafter by not-quite-exact) results appearing as links in my browser.

The “not-quite-exact” results are the most interesting feature and what that may mean is beyond my technical knowledge (and for now, my imagination). But one example would be the image existing within another’s larger coordinate system. That is, the image exists elsewhere on the web as part of a larger image. I’m sure there are other possible results (e.g. a grayscaled or rotated image match would appear high in the rankings) but much smarter folks than me can work the possibilities out.

I can haz imuge serch?

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “web feature request: image search”

  1. Vespa Says:

    Oh, I get it. So if someone pastes the image but changes the filename, it can still be found.

  2. Peter Says:

    I hadn’t really thought of it that way but, yeah – and more than just cut/paste as a small/common alteration should be found too.

    I suppose if it was my copyrighted image and I was worried that others may be posting my images without giving me attribution (according to the CC-BY license I slapped on there) then, yes. If the only thing preventing someone from being outed was a simple filename change (e.g. original.png to misappropriated.png) then that would be a good use of this search.

    Now I am wondering if the same kind of thing could be done with video?

  3. Polprav Says:

    Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

    • gnuosphere Says:

      The license for everything on this site that would be considered my expression is currently this. Include an active link directly to the post that is quoted and yes, you may.

Leave a Reply

